Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

February 25, 2004

Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200

3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:05 P.M. Vice Provost Janet Greger presided.
- 2. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of the 11-19-2003 meeting.
- **3.** Linda Strausbaugh was reelected to another term on the Graduate Faculty Council Executive Committee with her term expiring in January 31, 2007.
- 4. Adam Rabinowitz and Jeff Arbogast of the Graduate Student Senate provided information pertaining to funding opportunities offered by the Graduate Student Association and encouraged faculty to assist their organization with dissemination of that information. They requested assistance in getting more graduate students interested in becoming Senators for the Graduate Student Senate. The organization is attempting to run more academic and less social events. (Attachment)
- 5. The GEC had prepared a roughly drafted statement on Scholarly Publications (attachment). This and the University Senate statements (attachment) were distributed for discussion/adoption by the GFC. Brinley Franklin, Peter Allinson, Kent Holsinger and Emilio Pagoulatos made presentations regarding increasing journal costs and the pros/cons of the faculty taking a position. A motion was made to "table" any further discussion of a statement on scholarly publications by GFC: It was moved, seconded and passed by a vote of 16-8 in favor of tabling the proposal. Some felt that the draft statement was too watered down. Others thought that it was not clear as to how to begin to implement this proposal. The following link will provide more detailed information on the scholarly publication crisis with links to costs of journals. http://www.lib.uconn.edu/about/publications/scijrnlsalpha2003.htm. The following link lists journals by title: http://www.lib.uconn.edu/about/publications/scijrnlsalpha2003.htm. All faculty are urged to become more knowledgeable on these topics.
- 6. Meeting was adjourned at 4:40PM

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Broderick Administrative Assistant

PRESENT

Achenie, L.	Dunne, G.	Herzberger, D.	Roe, Shirely	Snyder, William
Anderson, G.	Enderle, J.	Hesselbrock, M.	Schultz, E.	Stern,. D.
Basu, A.	Fernandez, M.	Katz, L.	Semenza., G.	Strausbaugh, L.
Bohlen, W.	Geary, S.	Marsden, J.	Sheehan, N.	Walikonis, R.
Brody, H.	Glasberg, D.	McAvoy, R.	Shvartsman, A.	Wang, Y.
Clifford, J.G.	Hagen, C.	Pagoulatos, E	Silbart, L.	Warner, G.
Cosgel, M.	Hanink, D.	Rios, D.	Smith, E.	

Graduate School: J. Greger, (Executive Committee; J. Henkel (Executive Committee), *Graduate Students:* Adam Rabinowitz and Jeffrey Arbogast

Regrets: Abe, K., Alexandrescu, Abikoff, W. (sabbatic), Albert, A. (sabbatic), Barnes-Farrell, Janet, Boster, J., Chinn, P., Cillessen, A., Cormier, V., Cournoyer, D., Cromley, E., Cusson, R., Frogley, A., Gort, Mileidis, Hand, A., Hla, T., Karan, O., Klein, L., Kream, B., Langner, R., Lillo-Martin, D., Maresh, C., Mathieu, J., Maxwell, G., Mayer, B., Miller, T., Muirhead, D., Pitchumani, R., Segal, J., Streifer, P., Tian, Xiuchun, Troyer, J., VanHeese, Jaci