Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

September 15, 2010 Hugh Clark Meeting Room -- Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200 3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:08 P.M. Interim Vice Provost and Dean Lee Allen Aggison, Jr. presided.
- 2. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of the meeting of April 21, 2010.
- 3. L. Aggison introduced newly-appointed Associate Dean of the Graduate School Carolyn A. Lin.
- 4. R. Colon reported for the Graduate Student Senate (GSS). The GSS recently held its annual Graduate Appreciation and Information Night (GAIN) program. Colon said that HuskyMail will be replaced within a year or so. The GSS has been working with the Student Technology Advisory Group (STAG) in this regard. He noted that the GSS Executive Board had met recently. The GSS is considering enhancements to its emergency student loan fund as well as the creation of professional development workshops.
- 5. A motion introduced by the Executive Committee was presented for consideration. The motion seeks to reestablish Standing Committees of the Graduate Faculty Council comprising: Admission and Recruitment, Curricula and Courses, Diversity, Faculty Standards, Graduate Student Support, Infrastructure, International Affairs, and Research Support.
 - J. Marsden moved adoption. The motion was seconded (G. McManus), and it passed without dissent on a voice vote.
- 6. M. Aindow reported for the *ad hoc* Subcommittee on Appointment and Reappointment to the Graduate Faculty. Aindow noted that the existing Graduate Faculty Council policy (adopted by the GFC on September 26, 1990) was reviewed and found in large measure to be appropriate for use today. The Subcommittee, however, is recommending the adoption of revised wording in section 4.a *General Procedures*. The proposed revision to the wording in section 4.a follows:

Accompanying the application will be a current vita and, optionally, other evidence of scholarly activity. Recommendations from the Graduate Program Coordinator/Director of the relevant Field of Study (and Area of Concentration, if appropriate), from the faculty member's department head and from the Dean of the school or college should must be included with the application. Ordinarily, additional documentation or information will not be required, although the Executive Committee may seek additional input.

The full report of the Subcommittee, which includes the text of the 1990 policy as well as the proposed revision noted above, is attached to the file copy of these minutes.

Overall, the Subcommittee presented the following statement to the group for adoption:

It is proposed that the procedures for appointment and reappointment to the to the Graduate Faculty adopted by the Graduate Faculty Council on September 26, 1990 be reactivated with modification to section 4.a eliminating the requirement for a Department Head and Dean's signature. Given that the procedures for reappointment have been suspended for many years such that there are members of the Graduate Faculty that are past due for reappointment, the first three years shall be a transition period. During this transition period, all tenured members of the Graduate Faculty who are at least seven years past their tenure appointment or their last reappointment to the Graduate Faculty (i.e., those due for reappointment to the Graduate Faculty under the guidelines) will be invited to apply for reappointment to the Graduate Faculty. Those Graduate Faculty members in each program who are due for reappointment will be randomly assigned to one of three groups. Each year during the transition period the faculty members in one of these groups will be invited to apply for membership to the Graduate Faculty. Other members of the Graduate Faculty who are not now due for reappointment will be invited to apply for reappointment according to the time table established in the guideline. Initial screening of all applicants for reappointment will be done members of the Graduate Faculty in the faculty member's primary field of study or area of concentration. After consultation with the members of the Graduate Faculty in the relevant program, recommendations for reappointment will be made by the Graduate Program Coordinator/Director of the relevant field of study (and area of concentration if appropriate) as specified in the modified procedures. As provided in section 10 of the adopted procedures, faculty members due for application for reappointment will have the "the option of deferral for a one-year period, if additional time is needed to prepare their applications."

It was emphasized that there are two distinct parts to the overall all proposal and policy: (1) appointment to the Graduate Faculty, and (2) reappointment to the Graduate Faculty. L. Aggison recommended that members e-mail any feedback concerning the proposal directly to Aindow.

Following further discussion, it was **moved** (M. Aindow) and seconded (J. G. Clifford) to adopt the Subcommittee's proposal as stated above. The motion **passed** on a voice vote.

- 7. L. Aggison noted that he will e-mail to members the projected time line for the completion of the work of Procedures and Policies Committee.
- 8. W. Abikoff **moved** that J. G. Clifford serve as GFC Moderator through May 7, 2011. The motion was seconded and it **passed** without dissent on a voice vote. Clifford assumed the Moderator's role.
- 9. W. Abikoff reported on behalf of the GFC Executive Committee.
- 10. L. Aggison updated the group concerning the following: the imminent release of the report concerning the NRC's ranking of doctoral programs, plans to hold regular meetings in the Graduate School for post-doctoral fellows, planned electronic submission of master's theses, planned revamping of the Graduate School's Web site, planned improvements in terms of electronic and digitizing capabilities for the Graduate School's application process, and plans to join a consortium pursuing higher-education initiatives in Haiti.

11. New Business --

T. J. Peters, representative from the Computer Science and Engineering voting constituency, **moved** adoption of the following resolution:

As sabbatical leaves are integral to the scholarship and research functions of graduate faculty, we, the Graduate Faculty Council strongly support the remarks made in the AAUP Newsletter of September 14, 2010 regarding consideration of faculty sabbatical applications in accordance with the quoted statements of the Provost of having no intent for artificial or arbitrary limits on sabbatical leaves by any policy or directive from the Provost's Office.

The motion was seconded and discussed, and it passed without dissent on a voice vote.

As a follow-up, Peters **moved** that the Secretary communicate the above to the University community via the Deans, Directors, and Department Heads listsery. The follow-up motion also was seconded and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote.

12. Adjournment was at 4:15 PM.

Present: W. Abikoff, M. Aindow, J. Barnes-Farrell, G. Berkowitz, R. Bogner, J. G. Clifford, R. Colon, R. Cusson, G. Dunne, P. Faghri, M-L. Fernandez, R. Gross, S. Hewett, T. Hunter, O. Karan, T. Kehle, W. Kraemer, L. Lewis, J. Linnekin, J. Loss, E. Markus, J. Marsden, G. McManus (alt), S. Missari, T. J. Peters, M. Robbins (alt), F. Shah, Y. Sharvit (alt), R. Srivastava (alt), J. Tang, C. A. VanLear; S. Nunnally (Executive Committee); and L. Aggison (Vice Provost and Dean), C. Lin (Associate Dean), L. Klobutcher (Associate Dean), and T. B. Peters (Program Director)

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas B. Peters Program Director