Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

January 21, 2009 Hugh Clark Meeting Room -- Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200 3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:05 P.M. Interim Vice President for Research Suman Singha presided.
- 2. S. Singha recognized and welcomed all newly-elected and reelected members.
- 3. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of the meeting of November 19, 2008.
- 4. N. McGary reported that the Graduate Student Senate will be discussing concerns about the University's budget and tuition rates among other matters when it meets this semester.
- 5. There was an election to fill two seats on the Council's Executive Committee. Nominated were William Abikoff, Janet Barnes-Farrell, and Pouran Faghri. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to close nominations. Voting was by paper ballot. Abikoff and Barnes-Farrell were elected to three-year terms.
- 6. S. Singha updated members concerning several matters, including:
 - The budget and the need to plan for budget cuts,
 - Graduate assistantship appointments it was noted that it has been agreed that decisions about making full-time as opposed to fractional appointments will be made at the departmental level,
 - The committee exploring the proposal to charge GA tuition to grants will submit its report to the Provost soon,
 - The membership of the new committee to evaluate graduate degree offerings will be determined soon and the group will receive its charge at its first meeting, and
 - The results of the recently-completed NRC assessments of doctoral programs are to be made public soon.

Singha responded to questions from the floor

- 7. W. Abikoff reported on behalf of the Executive Committee noting that the Committee's proposal to seek changes in the By-Laws of the Graduate School was discussed with the Provost and that the Committee has elected to defer further consideration of any changes for the present time.
- 8. S. Singha noted that the search for the new position of Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School has progressed and that several individuals have been selected for interviews.
- 9. Adjournment was at 4:06 P.M.
- Present: W. Abikoff, M. Accorsi (alt), M. Bernstein, J. Bobaljik, N. Bouchard, H. Brody, S. Brown (alt), C. Clark, J. Clausen, J.G. Clifford, J. Cole, T. Cooke, D. Cooper, A. Donahue, G. Dunne, P. Faghri, RM.-L. Fernandez, A. Finger (alt), A. Frogley, J. ,Glaz, S. Hewett, W. Kraemer, J. Linnekin, R. Lopez, J. Magnuson (alt), E. Markus, J. Marsden, D. McDonald (alt), N. McGary, M. Mina, C. Parks, T.J. Peters, G. Risatti, E. Schultz, T. Seery, N. Sheehan (alt), R. Thorson (alt), T. Torgersen, C.A. VanLear, K. Venkitanarayanan, and B. Zhang; A. Albert (*Executive Committee*); and S. Singha (*Vice President*), J. Henkel (*Associate Vice Provost*), L. Klobutcher (*Associate Dean*), T.B. Peters (*Program Director*)

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas B. Peters Program Director