Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

September 21, 2011 Hugh Clark Meeting Room -- Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200 3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:08 P.M. Moderator J. Garry Clifford presided.
- 2. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of April 20, 2011 and May 20, 2011.
- 3. Members introduced themselves.
- 4. R. Colon reported for the Graduate Student Senate (GSS). He spoke about the group's goals and recent priorities:
 - o Compiling an ongoing list of assistantship opportunities in units and offices other than academic departments
 - Assisting the Graduate School
 - Examining transportation issues
 - o Creating professional development opportunities
 - Increasing the maximum loan amount available through the GSS Emergency Loan Fund
 - o Filling open graduate-student seats on UConn committees and groups
 - o Replacing HuskyMail with Gmail
 - o Participating in the planning for a general graduate-student orientation at the beginning of the Fall Semester,
- 5. Interim Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate School Charles A. Lowe addressed the Council. He included the following topics in his remarks:
 - Ongoing efforts to implement the new *ApplyYourself* admissions software from Hobsons and the need to plan for training sessions for faculty and staff
 - o The need to work toward more a communal representation of UConn's graduate programs in *Peterson's*
 - o Plans to improve the Graduate School's Web site
 - Ongoing efforts to implement electronic submission of doctoral dissertations (master's theses already are submitted electronically)
 - The need to build upon existing fellowship resources

There was discussion concerning these and other matters. Lowe concluded by stating that he will be asking members of the Council to get more involved in the months ahead.

- 6. There was no new business.
- 7. W. Abikoff reported on behalf of the GFC Executive Committee.
- 8. Adjournment was at 4:10 PM.

Present: W. Abikoff, D. Adler, D. Atkin, C. Auer, A. Basu, JC Beall, A. Berthelot (alt), P. Britner, H. Brody, A. Calabrese, Z. Chi, J. G. Clifford (Moderator), R. Colon, V. Cormier, S. De Guise, A. Engler (alt), M-L. Fernandez, R. Gross, M. K.Hadden, T. Kehle, E. Levine, L. Lewis, M. Lynes, E. Markus, G. McManus, S. Mollmann, C. Parks, L. Puddington, K. Ryker, B. Simonsen (alt), A. Vella, K. Venkitanarayanan, M. Wallace (alt), S. Winter; A. Albert (Executive Committee); and C. Lowe (Interim Vice Provost and Dean), C. Lin (Associate Dean), B. Kream (Associate Dean-Health Center), and T. Peters (Program Director)

Respectfully submitted, Thomas B. Peters Program Director