## **Graduate Faculty Council**

## MINUTES

March 21, 2012 Hugh Clark Meeting Room -- Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200 3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:03 P.M. Moderator J. Garry Clifford presided.
- 2. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve the minutes of the meeting of February 15, 2012 with one correction. Item seven should read:
  - K. Holsinger announced that the UConn Chapter of the AAUP has created a new faculty award in honor of Ed Marth, former Executive Director of the Chapter. The award recognizes excellence in graduate student mentoring.
- 3. S. Mollmann reported for the Graduate Senate (GSS). Topics included: a hearing on the GSS budget, an upcoming professional development conference, development of a graduate student listsery, and GSS support for diversity colloquia.
- 4. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to adopt the following resolution:

## **AUTHORIZATION TO CONFER GRADUATE DEGREES --**

It is recommended that the degrees of Master of Arts, Master of Business Administration, Master of Dental Science, Master of Engineering, Master of Fine Arts, Master of Music, Master of Professional Studies, Master of Public Administration, Master of Public Health, Master of Science, Master of Social Work, Doctor of Audiology, Doctor of Education, Doctor of Musical Arts, Doctor of Nursing Practice, Doctor of Physical Therapy, and Doctor of Philosophy be conferred upon those candidates who have satisfied all requirements and have been duly certified by the Graduate School for award of said degrees throughout the conferral periods ending in May, August, and December 2012.

- 5. An election was held to fill two seats on the GFC Executive Committee for three-year terms. The elected terms of William Abikoff (*Mathematics*) and Janet Barnes-Farrell (*Psychology*) have expired. At the February meeting, it was agreed that nominations would be submitted via e-mail to the Secretary by March 1, 2012. The following nominations were received: Richard Bass (*Music*), Maria-Luz Fernandez (*Nutritional Science*), Joseph LoTurco (*Physiology and Neurobiology*), Chantelle Messier (*Graduate Student Senate*; *Ph.D. student in English*), and Paulo Verardi (*Pathobiology*). Abikoff and Barnes-Farrell were nominated from the floor. Voting was by paper ballot. Bass and LoTurco were elected.
- 6. K. Holsinger made several announcements, including:
  - President Herbst is scheduled to meet with the Executive Committee on April 4, 2012
  - A full-time diversity position in the Graduate School has been approved
  - The Storrs Associate Dean position in the Graduate School is currently vacant and a search will begin soon.

There also was discussion concerning Hobsons *ApplyYourself*, Multicultural Fellowships, and the need to enhance the writing ability of graduate students through workshops.

- 7. **New Business** G. Semenza spoke about the maximum embargo period for theses and dissertations, which currently is set at six years. Following discussion related to his remarks, Semenza **moved** to extend the maximum allowable embargo period to ten years. The motion was seconded, and it **passed** without dissent on a voice vote.
- 8. W. Abikoff reported for the GFC Executive Committee. He spoke about memoranda of understanding (between UConn and other institutions) and their growing prevalence.
- 9. Adjournment was at 4:16 PM.

W. Abikoff, A. Albert, S. Andrew (alt), R. Aseltine, D. Atkin, C. Auer, R. Bass, A. Basu, P. Britner, A. Calabrese, Z. Chi, J. G. Clifford (Moderator), A. Dongari-Bagtzoglou (alt), G. Dunne, J. Enderle (alt), A. Engler (alt), M-L. Fernandez, C. Havens, M. K. Hadden, O. Karan, T. Kehle (alt), L. Lewis, J. Loss, J. LoTurco, C. Messier, S. Mollmann, R. Parnas, L. Puddington, H. Read (alt), G. Semenza, F. Shah, M. Urban, A. Vella, P. Verardi, J. Vokoun, M. Wallace; K. Holsinger (Interim Vice Provost and Dean), B. Kream (Associate Dean-Health Center), and T. Peters (Program Director)

Respectfully submitted, *Thomas B. Peters*Program Director