Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

February 16, 2011 Hugh Clark Meeting Room -- Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200 3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:06 P.M. Moderator J. Garry Clifford presided.
- 2. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of the meeting of October 20, 2010.
- 3. Representatives from Hobsons demonstrated graduate admissions software, which the Graduate School is considering for purchase.
- 4. The Moderator welcomed newly-elected Council members to their first meeting.
- 5. S. Missari reported for the Graduate Student Senate (GSS). Topics included, among others, the appointment of President-elect Susan Herbst and the GSS's plan to seek a meeting with her soon after her arrival in July, planned professional development workshops, working together with other UConn constituencies in the review of past Spring Weekends and the planning for alternative activities for Spring Weekend 2011, and the development of an on-line election system.
- 6. The Moderator informed members that an election is needed to fill two seats on the GFC Executive Committee. The elected terms of J. Garry Clifford Sylvain De Guise expired on 1/31/11. Clifford and De Guise were nominated. R. Rockwell questioned the election procedure and **moved to table** the election. The motion to table was seconded (R. Parnas), and it **passed** on a voice vote. It was agreed that Clifford and De Guise would continue to serve as members of the Executive Committee until the election can be held.
- 7. W. Abikoff reported on behalf of the GFC Executive Committee. He noted that the group recently has discussed topics such as embargoes on public accessibility of master's theses, permitting e-mail votes on pressing matters at times of the year when the Executive Committee does not meet regularly, and memoranda of understanding concerning international exchanges and programs.
- 8. It was **moved** and seconded that the Graduate Faculty Council express its support for the continuation of Lee A. Aggison, Jr. in the position of Interim Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate School. The motion **passed** without dissent on a voice vote.
- 9. R. Rockwell noted that the Graduate Faculty Council agreed at a previous meeting to revisit the appointment process for members of the Graduate Faculty adopted at the 9/15/10 meeting. Members agreed to place this on the agenda for the next meeting.
- 10. Adjournment was at 5:03 PM.

Present: W. Abikoff, D. Adler, M. Aindow, A. Albert, S. Andrew (alt), A. Basu, JC Beall, G. Berkowitz, J. Clausen, J. G. Clifford (Moderator), J. Cole, V. Cormier, S. Demurjian, A. Donahue, D. Doran, G. Dunne, A. Engler (alt), M-L. Fernandez, A. Frogley, B. Grela (alt), W. Kraemer, J. Loss, E. Markus, J. Marsden, S. Missari, C. Parks, R. Parnas, L. Puddington, R. Rockwell (alt), K. Ryker, E. Schultz, A. Vella, P. Verardi, G. Wang (alt); S. Nunnally (Executive Committee); and L. Aggison (Interim Vice Provost and Dean), C. Lin (Associate Dean), B. Kream (Associate Dean), and T. Peters (Program Director)

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas B. Peters

Program Director