

Graduate Faculty Council (GFC) Meeting Agenda 3:00 pm to 5:00 pm – Wednesday, April 24th, 2024 Virtual meeting via WebEx

Date: 24th of April 2024, 3:00 pm-5:00 pm

Location: Virtual meeting via WebEx

Subject: Graduate Faculty Council of The Graduate School (GFC) meeting

minutes

Attendees: Mary Anne Amalaradjou (*Moderator*), Marina Astitha, David Atkin,

Talia Bar, Deborah Bolnick, Karen Bresciano (*Ex-Officio, Assistant Dean*), Jack Corcoran (*Ex-Officio, Recording Secretary*), Thomas Craemer, Jose Cruz, Kimberly Dodge-Kafka, Hannah Dostal, Monty Escabi, Sarita Fellows, Neal Glaviano, Preston Green, Ashley Helton, Kent Holsinger (*Ex-Officio, Dean & Chair*), Tiffany Kelley, Heejoo Kim,

Barbara Kream (*Ex-Officio, Associate Dean*), Yangchao Luo, Betsy McCoach, Julian Norato, William Ouimet, Diana Rios, Chadwick Rittenhouse, Alexander Russell, Beth Russell, Archana Sanjay, Kurt Schwenk, Helena Silva, Tammie Spaulding, Helen Swede, Randall Walikonis, Andrew Wiemer, Alexander Woodward, Yuping Zhang

Absent: Heather Battaly, Mary Bernstein (Ex-Officio, Associate Dean), Vasilis

Chousionis, Lauren Corso, Khaled "Axel" Djebbari (GSS

Representative), Meg Feely, Nathan Fiala, Victoria Ford Smith, Travis Grosser, Thomas Hayes, Michael Hren, Magdalena Kaufmann, Todd Kravet, Julia Kuzovkina, Jacqueline Loss, Anson Ma, Michael O'Neill, Jeremy Pais, Eugene Pinkhassik, Heather Read, Guillermo Risatti, Leslie

Shor (*Ex-Officio*) Prabhakar Singh, Ron Squibbs, Luyi Sun, Aditya Tadinada, Judith Thorpe, Carlos Trallero, Nathaniel Trumbull, Penny

Vlahos, Janet Watson, Ping Zhang, Xinyu Zhao

Guests: None

1. The meeting is called to order at 3:03 pm.

- 2. Presented for voting: Approval of the Minutes from the March 27th, 2024, meeting.
 - a. A motion to approve is made by Mary Anne Amalaradjou and seconded by Alexander Woodward. The minutes are approved with a majority vote by the Graduate Faculty Council.
- 3. Report from Graduate Student Senate
 - a. There was no representative present from the Graduate Student Senate; a new slate of executive officers has recently been elected as the organization begins to rebuild.
- 4. Resolution: The Graduate School shall award the degrees of Master of Arts, Master of Business Administration, Master of Dental Science, Master of Engineering, Master of Fine Arts, Master of Music, Master of Professional Studies, Master of Public Administration, Master of Public Policy, Master of Public Health, Master of Science, Master of Social Work, Doctor of Audiology, Doctor of Education, Doctor of Musical Arts, Doctor of Nursing Practice, Doctor of Physical Therapy, and Doctor of Philosophy to those candidates whom The Graduate School has certified have completed all degree requirements for conferral periods ending in August 2023, December 2023, and May 2024.
 - a. The Graduate Faculty Council voted to approve the Resolution unanimously.
- 5. Executive Committee of The Graduate School: Election of Mary Anne Amalaradjou and Helen Swede
 - a. The Graduate Faculty Council voted to approve the election of Amalaradjou and Swede with a majority vote.
- 6. New Business: Mentee Guide
 - a. A companion guide to the Mentor Guide, approved and endorsed by the GFC last year, was distributed to the council in draft form. This Mentee Guide would be a guidance for graduate students on how to advocate for themselves to be mentored in an effective way. This guide is to be reviewed by council members and will be returned to in the Fall 2024 semester for an official vote and endorsement.
- 7. A motion to adjourn was made by Diana Rios and seconded by David Atkin. The Graduate Faculty Council meeting adjourned at 3:24 pm. The next GFC meeting is scheduled for September 2024.